Why I like to work when I travel

In a recent post, I asked a question and asked for any questions readers may have about me in general. The questions shared a very similar theme so it is nice to add them here and answer them in a dedicated post. My question was, if you had to only travel for two weeks a year, would you stay at home and travel abroad for those two weeks, or live abroad (anywhere) and go back to your home country for the two weeks. The answers I would say were 50/50. Some people like home. Others like to make new places their home. There of course is no ‘right’ answer.

So without further ado, here are the questions I received. I am sorry if someone posts a question after I put this out, I will of course answer it in a comment reply. Hopefully this is a good opportunity to learn something new about me and I have linked those bloggers that asked the questions so please feel free to check them out too.

Let’s start with this one from TracyNicole:

Where have you lived and do you have a job that is easy to obtain no matter where you live or do you do a new job each place you live?

I have lived in four separate locations. They are (in chronological order):

County Durham, England

img_4523

Lubbock, TX

LBK

Newcastle-upon-Tyne, England

16123838_634121296780530_3230425678495088640_n(1)

Sydney, Australia

img_6906-1

Notice the similarity of the bridges in Newcastle and Sydney. Although the same company built both, Sydney Harbour Bridge looks more like the Hell Gate Bridge in New York. Apparently both of the above bridges had designs derived from the Hell Gate Bridge, but Sydney certainly has more of a resemblance. The same people, but slightly different designs. I have always found that pretty cool, especially now that I have walked over both of them. Once is certainly bigger and more well known!

Regarding the second part of the question, I feel very lucky when it comes to finding work. I was born in Durham, but my first real job was in Newcastle. I was working for the tourist board helping promote the city, I commuted to and from Durham via bus (an hour and a half commute that I hated) but the job was worth it. This was during university and after graduating I was offered a paid internship in Texas, and of course I accepted it. This has been the easiest job to find as I didn’t even have an interview. I simply graduated and there were enough spaces available to apply. After my 12 month contract came to an end, I stayed in contact with the company I worked for in Newcastle and found an apartment there. I continued to work in hospitality here for roughly four years.

When I arrived in Sydney in September, I did not have a job secured. I was very lucky to find a hotel hiring on Circular Quay and because of my experience, started work a couple of days later.

So in terms of employment, I highly recommend anyone that is at university to look for internships and opportunities to travel abroad. Travelling to Sydney I did not have anything secured, but if you have the experience or just enough motivation to keep looking for work, it can be found. I personally like to go into workplaces in person and introduce myself instead of simply uploading a CV online, I feel it makes you stand out more and shows a little more effort. So my work isn’t flexible in the sense that I can be transferred, however hospitality is everywhere and having the experience in this industry helps me to find such work anywhere I go. I have never been able to keep the same job once I have moved, but always had similar work. Only one company (in Texas) hired me before I moved there. Everywhere else, I had to find employment after landing.

Thanks for the question!

Thank you to atheistsmeow for this one:

Have you set a time limit for how long you will stay in one place to work, or are you playing it by ear?

Unfortunately, my current visa restrictions means I can only work for six months with any one company. So my last working day was March 11th. I am playing it by ear in terms of where I will be and who I am working for with these restrictions in mind. I feel it is a good thing however, as it forces me to keep moving. What is different with my american visa was that I could only work for the one company that sponsored me for 12 months, meaning I was restricted to one city. I did travel, but probably not as much as I will do in Australia.

Here’s one from Pins for the Wins:

How do you make each new place feel more like home when you move?

Interestingly enough I don’t really do much to my new home once I move. For example my current apartment isn’t filled with things to remind me of home. But this is because I like to be out of the house more than I am in it, and when I am here I like to Skype with family and friends back home. I know some people take pictures and put them in frames, or take along certain possessions and foods. I probably would have been more like this if I was travelling before the days of instant communication. Now, I know I can Skype in an instant and see family as well as the home I left behind for travel. What I do like to do however is bring back items from my travels to keep in my home back in the UK. When I am back there I like to have reminders of where I have been!

This is interesting to think about actually, if you are the opposite and make your new home remind you of ‘back home’ let me know. For me, I know I won’t be in these destinations for too long, not long enough to make them homely. If I was to permanently move here however, I am sure I would put more effort in.

This question is from by The Wee Bakery:

How many countries have you visited? Is there anywhere you went for a holiday and just ended up staying?

I have visited *closes eyes and tries to think* the following countries, in chronological order again to help jog my memory.

  • Spain (four times, only once to the mainland)
  • France
  • Norway
  • The Netherlands
  • USA (NYC three times, TX for a year and then up the east coast)
  • Malaysia
  • Singapore
  • Brazil (one month, including the Olympics and a couple weeks flying from city to city although I needed more time)
  • Argentina (this doesn’t really count, we crossed the border and ate at a restaurant. But it was fun!)
  • Australia

So I am by no means ‘well travelled’ compared to some bloggers here, however I feel very fortunate to have visited as many as I have. A question  often get asked iswhich was my favourite, however they are all so different it is hard to compare. Some have greater food, some a better quality of life, some have better weather. It all depends on who you are as a person and what you want from a holiday.

Many of these places I wish I could have stayed longer in, however there hasn’t been an instance in which I decided to stay there. But that is why I have decided to take year long visas, to make sure I get to see as much as I can without running out of time and being full of regrets. Large countries need more than a week or two, sometimes just to get over the jet-lag alone!

Cheers Miss LiV Adventures for asking:

My question for you is why did you decide to travel, and how did you find the means?

I decided to travel when I was 20. I went on holidays with family and still do and loved the thrill of flying to a completely different country, weather, currency, food etc. I was also very shy growing up, and once I was given the opportunity to work in the States I jumped for it. This was the best decision I have ever made. I became much more confident, I had to become self reliant and get over the uncomfort of living so far from family. It really did develop me as a person, and I realised how much of the world I was missing by not doing so. I am also not religious, and I really want to make the most of this life whilst I can. I know when I go back home I will see the same faces walking into the same shop buying the same newspaper, and this is okay but it freaks me out a little. I need to be out there seeing what the world has to offer!

It isn’t cheap to travel, which is why on these year long trips I work to fund myself. The Australian Working Holiday Visa is great for this, allowing you to work for six months with any company whilst you fund such travels. There is also the opportunity for sponsorship if a company decides to keep you on, meaning more opportunity to stay longer. I wanted to make the most of this whilst I was able to obtain this visa. I haven’t been sponsored, however they give you the option to stay for a second year by doing three months of farmwork in rural areas.

Update: I am also single, still in my twenties with no children. This makes it much easier for me to travel, less responsibilities means I currently have more time to travel when I want and where. A factor that I didn’t think to add!

by AJ

Where are you going next?

So, now that I have finished my current contract, I have until September to stay anywhere in Australia. However as I briefly mentioned above, by doing 88 days of farmwork I can apply for a second year. So this is what I am going to be doing now. In the next week or so I am going to fly up to Queensland and start this farming adventure to extend my visa until September 2019. This means I will have much more time to explore this vast nation, something I haven’t really been able to do whilst working full time in Sydney.

So the bad news is, I need to work hard in high temperatures to get that second year. The good news is that I will have plenty more to blog about until my visa expires, with plenty more locations to visit and sights to see. I am considering two locations to fly to in the next week, I will let you know when I have made a decision. Exciting times!

Thank you all for the questions, it is great to read them and I am pleased to give you some answers. I had fun doing this and I am sure I will have another Q&A in the not too distant future if you enjoyed it! 

As always, I appreciate the feedback and any comments you may have. What country should I visit next and why?

Sam

 

Published by

Dealing with Disorder

A website dedicated to Tourette, OCD and co-occurring conditions. Daily updates celebrating neurodiversity.

38 thoughts on “Why I like to work when I travel”

  1. What a fantastic way to answer our questions! I’m sure we’ll all have more with the coming of your next stage of employment & area. This has helped me understand the ”work visa” much better. Thanks, Sam, this is great.

    Liked by 4 people

  2. I love how the picture for Lubbock is a Raiders football game. 😂 Us Texans are serious about our high school and college football!
    I went to Tech in 1994 for a semester and both of my parents graduated from Tech.

    Liked by 3 people

  3. So you’re heading to the “Deep North” 🙂 My mother grew up on a sugar cane farm near Proserpine. I didn’t realise it was so complicated re visas etc. but weather-wise you should be fine during winter. Many Victorians head north to Queensland in the winter. Best wishes for the next leg of your travels…

    Liked by 3 people

      1. Will you get a chance to see Brisbane and the Sunshine Coast? Also the hinterland, either Gold or Sunshine Coast (Maleny and Montville, also Eumundi are great!) before you go further north? If and when you want a more temperate climate, the Riverina district (southern NSW) or in Victoria there often seems to be heaps of fruit-picking work. Some lovely wineries in N-E Victoria 🙂 I hope you’re going to check out Melbourne too before you go – different (better) than Sydney 😉

        Liked by 2 people

      2. Absolutely! I am extending my visa so I get to travel the country more. And they are two places on my list. Melbourne is a place that is top of my list too… I have already arrived in north Queensland, so once I have done my farmwork I will be free to roam 🙂

        Liked by 2 people

      3. And you musn’t miss going to Byron Bay! 🙂 Also having just been to Melbourne myself, was reminded that I didn’t get to the Mornington Peninsula till the last year I was there – it is so beautiful!

        Liked by 2 people

    1. No problem 🙂 And I have ticked most continents off the list which I think is pretty cool! I am sure I will have plenty of stories to share in the upcoming months 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  4. Please be wary where you end up for the farm experience. Have heard a lot of bad stories about them so please please have your wit about you and if something feels not right leave. The one year extension is not worth your life.

    Liked by 4 people

    1. Thanks for the concern, I am going with some respected hostels up in Ayr that I have been recommended by people that have done it. I feel going through a hostel will be better as they want to keep their businesses open by working with respected farmers. I will remain alert throughout!

      Liked by 3 people

  5. Nice pictures and you have visited lots of beautiful places. It is an interesting post because you explain better some aspects of your personal experiences or your life and at the same time how to be in a certain sense tenacious to find the best way to live, but also about work.

    Liked by 4 people

    1. Thank you! I like to post my experiences and if I can, help others in ways I feel I can. So my blog I guess will often be either my personal thoughts and opinions, my advice and also recommendations from what I have experienced. I just hope that they remain useful to my readers such as yourself!

      And as always, I appreciate the feedback 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Thanks for answering my question! It seems like you are really making the most of life despite the challenges of having to worry about visas and such. I understand the need for border security and all that but I’ve often complained to my husband that it shouldn’t be so difficult to move to new places to “try them out”. After visiting Nova Scotia we were exploring that option and it seems like you either have to be incredibly wealthy or already have a job lined up to move there which was discouraging. With that said I’d encourage you to visit Canada… I’ve only been to St John, New Brunswick and Halifax, Nova Scotia (via a cruise) but I loved them both!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. I will happily visit Canada, regardless of how difficult it is to obtain a Visa! Then again, as I have been on two year-long visa’s abroad maybe my trips to Canada will be shorter vacations. But it is somewhere I will be heading at some point, and when I do I will be back here asking to be reminded of the places I should visit there 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. This is the coolest post! You answered a lot of my own personal questions for anyone who decides to go travel the world. What courage it takes for you to be able to do this as well, I think I would get a little scared not being around some familiar faces.

    I really enjoy the pictures you get to take too, England and Sydney look like great places to visit, both beautiful!

    Looking forward for your next Q&A!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thank you very much! They are both beautiful in their own way, for sure. Honestly, the worries I had about being away from familiar faces for so long were soon diminished as you are just too busy taking everything in and having fun 🙂 Not that I don’t miss those back home, it just makes the travel much more bearable than you would expect 🙂

      I will have another Q&A at some point too 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  8. Thanks so much for the great answers. I moved to Canada for college when I was young and had that similar experience of gaining confidence after being terribly shy and socially withdrawn. I then moved into Seattle on my own, from the suburb my parents lived in, and discovered quite a different world.
    I’ve never been afraid to take such leaps without friends or family – maybe because my family made a few drastically far moves when I was a child. I learned early that starting over is manageable and rewarding.

    I can see after considering your answers, that I’ll likely only get to do significant traveling if my husband signs on to the adventure as well. We’ll see what the future holds. For the time being, traveling vicariously though reading of blog adventures and through taking leaps and challenges within my more confined environment is keeping me happy.

    I hope the farm work challenge is interesting and brings a new kind of reward to you. I’m sure it will be tiring, but it will undoubtedly enrich your experiences in life. Cheers!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. I hope the farm work will be rewarding too. So far, I am feeling comfortable here, which is the main thing! It is great to read in your comment how your situation has been similar to mine, travelling has increased confidence for example.

      I hope your husband agrees to many great adventures!

      Liked by 2 people

  9. We had a chance to check out your blog, and we would love to feature one of your new posts on our site (guest post). We have a revenue-share model, so we pay based off of how your post performs. Give our site a glance over, and let us know if you’re interested.

    Happy traveling!

    http://themixedbagtravel.com/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Good morning, I would be very grateful and more than happy to do a guest post for you. I have had a look at your site and will message you through the submission section. I hope you have a great day and thanks for reading!

      Like

Comments are closed.