My favourite free thing to do in Brisbane (so far)

I posted recently about people that expect free things and get angry when they don’t receive them. I really don’t like that. But this doesn’t mean we shouldn’t make the most of free opportunities when we encounter them. We most definitely should.

IMG_8320

This is the free City Hopper ferry on the Brisbane River. I love the name (of the river, not the ferry), I felt so stupid asking before I knew.

brisbaneriver

This was a great decision that my friend made (a fellow backpacker that I met as she checked into my hostel room that day) when I told her about the free trip. ‘Let’s do it. Why not?’, she declared as I was describing it to her. We walked to the ferry terminal and got on as people were boarding the moment we found where it was. We weren’t sure of where this would take us, but didn’t really care either. Off we went and we took plenty of photos along the way. The transition from day to night was beautiful.

IMG_8318IMG_8322IMG_8323IMG_8324IMG_8325IMG_8329IMG_8330IMG_8333IMG_8334IMG_8336IMG_8340IMG_8341IMG_8343

We discovered that this particular ferry took you to a number of spots around the river in the CBD, making its way south to the South Bank and then turning around and heading north. The overall ride is roughly an hour and a half and worth it. A free ferry ride with these views? Yes please. It is particularly awesome for those that can use this as a commute to and from work, saving precious pennies every day.

On a boat for this long can make you hungry, and another spur off the moment decision (by my friend again) brought us to this great little Asian diner. Our request for ‘not too spicy’ was either forgotten or we just can’t handle spice like those around us. Regardless, it was great, and a great end to a great evening.

IMG_8344


 

Thank you again to all my followers and regular readers, and hello to you if you are new to my blog!

New to this site? Click here to visit my About My Blog section

Want to keep up with my travels? Click here for my Travel Diary

Want to introduce yourself and your blog and discover new ones? Click here for my meet and greet page.

Happy blogging,

Sam

Published by

Dealing with Disorder

A website dedicated to Tourette, OCD and co-occurring conditions. Daily updates celebrating neurodiversity.

24 thoughts on “My favourite free thing to do in Brisbane (so far)”

    1. I hope to find more free activities and blog about them. As a backpacker I don’t often have too much money in my pocket, so this will help a lot!

      Like

    1. Thank you! And it was a kind of soup, it was interesting the way the restaurant was set up. We grabbed a bowl and picked all the ingredients we wanted to be in it from shelves, a bit like a grocery store or buffet. Fish, veg, meat, noodles, you name it, I threw it in. They then cooked it all and added spice and the sauce and soup that you can see. It was very filling!

      Like

Leave a comment