I am going to start blogging everyday again

The more I see blue skies, the more I feel spring/summer is well on it’s way. St Paul’s Cathedral looks stunning with the suns glow, as does London in general. The wind is still strong (it doesn’t want to leave after the recent storms) however it would be tragic to waste a sunny day. A thick coat is all that’s needed.

DSC_0117

I was thinking about my blog and the year ahead as I strolled. One thing that has always been the case with me is, the longer I stay away from something the harder it is to get back into it. And that has well and truly been the case with blogging. I thought about writing less, maybe 2-3 posts as week on my blog as I practice my photography and post daily photos on Instagram, but I feel I will struggle with that. I have been.

DSC_0063

When I think about posting a couple times a week, I give myself less urgency to post. I have that same ‘you always have tomorrow’ excuse repeating in my head and giving myself an excuse to put it off a little. Before I know it, one, two, three days have passed without a post. Then a week. And then it’s almost a month and I’m like ‘where the hell has the time gone?!’. Basically I think I need that daily urgency, that immediate deadline, to help me focus and keep me on the ball. It isn’t the enjoyment I struggle with right now, more the urgency and motivation. I have always enjoyed blogging, but I think I enjoy it the most when doing it daily.

One of the reasons is because I actually get it done. I feel satisfied because I am constantly putting something out there, whether it is a lengthy post or just a couple of paragraphs. I am contributing something and everyday I do this I gain more motivation for the next day. It becomes habit. And I need this to get it done at all.

And with an absence from my blog, my travels have suffered too as I am not going to travel without making sure I take my decent camera and share with you all. So I really want to share some of the smaller things with you daily (like this cone stuck on a ground light near my apartment) as I enjoy sharing these moments as much as the bigger tourist adventures I go on. I always have and it gives an insight to a city that we don’t often see.

So I think I will give it another go. A challenge to keep me inspired and moving forward. Without a daily post I have been failing to remain consistent and present, and I am hoping it really kick-starts my travel posts as I have a ton of things to see.

I’ll start Friday 13th. I believe a lot of the time we create our own luck anyway.

DSC_0117

 

 

Published by

Dealing with Disorder

A website dedicated to Tourette, OCD and co-occurring conditions. Daily updates celebrating neurodiversity.

30 thoughts on “I am going to start blogging everyday again”

    1. It does doesn’t it? I guess for some who are good at scheduling certain times of the week that feels right (and we all have different preferences), but for me daily does. I feel I have missed out on a day of blogging otherwise, and I have felt that A LOT recently. Thanks for letting me know you are a daily blogger too, keep it up!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Early on in my blog (more than a year ago now!) I struggled because I didn’t have a clear idea what I was writing for or about. The schedule helps for sure. But it also helps to have something that excites you. I felt like I was duplicating stuff other people had done, and so it made it really hard to find the motivation to write. Around the time I set a schedule, I’ve found something of a niche, and i’ve hit a kind of stride. Still have dry spells every now and again where its hard to even work through my backlog of drafts, but sometimes I get a few weeks ahead and it feels easy.

    I’ve still got a ridiculous backlog of drafts but eventually I’ll have to do some triage because either they aren’t topics worth writing about or they aren’t topics i’m enthusiastic about so forcing it through will be a poor product.

    The more you write, the more regularly you write, the easier it will be, the more you will focus on what exactly you’re writing for.

    The end of your double-winter is in sight, I look forward to seeing what you come up with!
    AMDG
    -Scoot

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thanks Scoot for sharing, it certainly helps knowing what you are writing for and about as it is easy to get a little lost and with that, leave it. I have felt this a lot over the years. But it is brilliant to hear you have found your niche and it has benefited you!

      With drafts I had quite a few, I would write titles down on my way home for example or on work breaks and sometimes I would make a post, others the idea started to bore me and I cancelled it. But I have set a rule that if I have something in my drafts for more than a few weeks and I haven’t started on it, I mustn’t be that enthusiastic about it anymore and I delete. I never had a huge list though, just posts I thought ‘meh’ about. I find drafts also clutter my site and deleting them was a weight off my shoulders haha.

      Let me know what you do with your drafts in the end, and thanks for the comments. It really is true that the more regularly you write the easier it gets!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ve deleted some drafts after going back and realizing I don’t want to write about it any more, but 8 times out of 10, it’s my “rainy day” fund. I’ll usually start with a title and one line describing the subject to trigger my memory. So if i’m going through a spell and I can’t think of what I want to write about, I’ll work on clearing out some of my drafts. It is helpful for me because I’ve set a semi-rigorous schedule of 2 posts per week, and my subject matter tends to be impersonal.

        At least one of the ones in my draft folder has been there since last summer, and I know it’s going to take a lot of time to write so I haven’t done it–so at times its a laziness factor! Setting an expiration date is a good idea. Either crank it out or get rid of it, don’t let it clog up the works.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Keep the rainy day fund, great idea! It will be great to have so many ideas to look at again when you get writers block. I really can relate to the laziness thing regarding drafts when we know the post will be a long or time consuming one… maybe just chisel away at it over time with a paragraph or so here and there and before you know it, bam! Ready to publish.

        Love this, thanks for the inspiration Scoot.

        Like

    1. Likewise Pat! It is something we are monitoring, however we are just ensuring that we are reminding everyone to have the highest levels of hygiene at all times and keeping an eye on things.

      What about Canada, are you also running out of toilet paper like we are? Haha

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hahahaha…….I haven’t heard anything about TP here, but the US…yes.

        Canada has a preparedness plan in place, & in my uncrowded small town, we’re away from bigger centers, so hopefully safer if nobody travels out & brings it back.

        As for ourselves, I shop online for the non perishables, stay at home unless we need fresh foods, use my mobility scooter as a shopping cart which nobody touches but me, keep my pantry & freezer stocked for months ahead, as I’ve always done in case of a long winter, we don’t socialize, & I wash my hands a dozen times a day. Even our kitties don’t go outside.

        Liked by 2 people

      2. Hopefully being in a smaller city will help you, I do hope it can be contained. It sounds like you won’t come into contact with too many people anyway, this is certainly a good thing! Stay safe Pat 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Still cold, but much sunnier! The wind is making it much colder though for sure.

      Regarding blogging I think it is good that you only blog when you have something to say, as then it isn’t forced. It may sound like I am trying to force it by blogging daily, but I feel everyday there is always something we can talk about, even in small quantities 🙂

      Thanks for your comment!

      Like

    1. Thanks Hettie, I will try and if anything I think recent events will help me as I will have much more time in isolation haha.

      I hope you have had a great weekend.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment