Two amazing moments I experienced in London last week

It is easy to talk about how bad this year has been. So I thought I would take a moment to show you two pretty awesome experiences I have had in the past seven days.

DSC_0022 (2)-2 2DSC_0021-2

On the 18th June, the Red Arrows flew alongside the Patrouille de France over Buckingham Palace. It marks 80 years since Charles de Gaulle made a famous speech to the people of France to fight Nazi occupation. They flew over Paris on the same day.

The weather couldn’t have improved at a better time. Earlier that day it was cloudy and raining, however nothing but blue skies to delight onlookers thereafter.

DSC_0019-2

But not every spectacle in London is expected, some just happen right in front of us. Take this moment two days ago, as I was about to cross a road at Piccadilly Circus. I was taking photos and had my GoPro with me, and could tell something was happening with all the heads turning.

I got my GoPro out as a dozen or so Supercars rocked up to the traffic lights, and stayed for a whole ten minutes at the delight of passers by. I filmed the whole thing and uploaded to YouTube, and the footage can be seen below.

I have no idea what the police thought about them holding up traffic for ten minutes, but as present as police were that day (due to protests), the cars were able to stay without repercussion. In fact they only drove off after one driver decided they had been there long enough, whilst the crowds grew. I understand that there isn’t much social distancing happening here, but I was never packed in with a crowd and when I did lean over someone, I was well back with my GoPro extended out in front of me.

I just wanted to cross a road. I wasn’t expecting so many people to turn up around me, or for any of this at all!

So the world isn’t all bad, some interesting things are still happening around us if we keep looking for them.

I hope you have some of your own stories too, what fun things did you get up to over the weekend?

Let me know of them in the comments!

https://www.instagram.com/p/CBlyPbPMQDM/


 

Due to the Coronavirus outbreak I am somewhat limited as to what I can do in London, but I aim to post as much as I can during this time. I promise to have some great posts coming your way once this is all over as I continue to explore London.

Stay safe and happy blogging!

Sam


 

Connect with me!

Have a blog you want to share? Introduce yourself here!

[instagram-feed]

 

IMG_5334

Published by

Dealing with Disorder

A website dedicated to Tourette, OCD and co-occurring conditions. Daily updates celebrating neurodiversity.

18 thoughts on “Two amazing moments I experienced in London last week”

    1. Yes it is such a beautiful sight. The supercar moment was unexpected, but I guess as it was the weekend there wasn’t much traffic anyways. Cars behind it didn’t seem too mad, there was a surprisingly small amount of honking!

      Like

  1. It is really easy to focus on all the bad this year has brought … I also have a close friend who has now been told she has only 2 -4 months to live due to metastisized cancer … however, 2020 has also been an incredible year. Bonding with friendships, being able to stop and appreciate the little things we have all been too busy, too rushed, too tired to really enjoy. There’s been so much heartbreak this year, I am not wanting to downplay that at all. The devastation has been phenomenal and I fear it hasn’t ended yet … but there is light if we look for it 🙂

    Like

    1. I am so sorry to hear of your friend’s diagnosis, so very sad. This year seems bad for all but of course some get hit harder. But keep looking at the positives whatever that may be and try to make 2020 the best it can be.

      Stay safe and have a great week.

      Like

  2. Great moments! If this were in France, everyone would be wearing masks. European borders opened this week so on Saturday we popped over into Italy for our weekly shop and had lunch out in our “usual” restaurant. It was nowhere near as crowded as before and, again, everyone was masked and maintaing safe distances in shops, the market cafes and restaurants.

    Like

    1. It’s London, it probably doesn’t make a dent, even in lock down! Haha. Noise pollution will always be a thing in central London, sirens, helicopters, protests, surrounding airports. Very busy!

      Like

  3. Happy to see you had an eventful week and even more so that the weather played along! With lockdowns slowly lifting everywhere around the world, I hope to see more fun posts like this. Here’s to the better half of 2020!

    Like

    1. The weather has been great… 30c today and even hotter tomorrow! Just as lockdown is easing too (and hoping we don’t have a second lockdown if we get a second wave of the pandemic).

      I hope you are keeping cool over there Nads, and have some more fun posts coming our way 😀

      Like

Leave a comment