Early bird or night owl?

I have been following a lot of London photographers lately to get some inspiration. One thing I envy is just how empty the streets are in their photographs, they look abandoned!

Even in the height of lockdown, London’s streets were not totally empty, and getting up early seems to be the best way to get that abandoned vibe. The early bird catches the worm is very true in this case. The problem is I am not an early bird.

https://www.instagram.com/p/CCGQWKAMK_v/

But I am getting better. The earlier I wake the less busy tourists areas are, it really is rewarding and makes me excited to leave the house. And as I get older (cheese alert) I am appreciating everyday more and more, and realising how much time a sleep-in can waste. Too much.

DSC_0040

Here are some shots not long before sunset at St Paul’s Cathedral. The ‘what‘ installation above is a part of a wider project around the city, with many other words dotted around nearby streets.

*Google’s what the actual full sentence is*

Thanks to Londonist for the answer, the full sentence reads ‘What are you going to meet if you turn this corner?

The Millennium Bridge perhaps?

DSC_0134

Cute dogs on walkies?

DSC_0139DSC_0146

The Shard perhaps, taken on a different, more cloudy day.

DSC_0028

This street gave me a real Harry Potter vibe, and was a great way to see the Shard unobstructed from across the Thames. The new pictures I am uploading here and to Instagram are new ones I have taken in the past few weeks of lockdown, and edited using Lightroom. I will have at least one new shot a day for the next month or so, so plenty of London to see if you have five minutes spare to check them out!

But back to the question. Early bird or night owl? Have recent events changed your habits or have you stuck to your guns?

Let me know, and happy hump day!

Sam

 


 

Due to the Coronavirus outbreak I am somewhat limited as to what I can do in London, but I aim to post as much as I can during this time. I promise to have some great posts coming your way once this is all over as I continue to explore London.

Stay safe and happy blogging!

Sam

 


 

Connect with me!

Have a blog you want to share? Introduce yourself here!

[instagram-feed]

 

IMG_5334

Published by

Dealing with Disorder

A website dedicated to Tourette, OCD and co-occurring conditions. Daily updates celebrating neurodiversity.

25 thoughts on “Early bird or night owl?”

  1. Life long night person, & no matter how many times I tried to change that over the years, it never worked. Now I just refuse to get up early unless there is some compelling reason to do so….like the house is on fire.
    Then again, medical people crack the damn dawn, so I have to get up for that if I can’t get a later appointment for some reason. I do request afternoons for regular appointments though.

    Good pics, & cute little dog.

    Like

    1. I guess it just doesn’t work for some. Although I know what it’s like having to get up for appointments and things… it seems everyone else just loves an early start!

      Like

  2. I am a VERY morning person! But since I almost never sleep longer than 5.5 hours, I can be counted as both 🙂

    Like

    1. Not much sleep for you! I do feel on work morning I don’t sleep as long as I still can’t get myself to bed early. I still haven’t learned xD Your days must seem so long (in a good way) I love it!

      Like

      1. Indeed! I always thought that there are so many activities which are more interesting than sleeping 🙂

        Like

  3. I can be either but I’m more of an early bird. Great photos btw It’s so strange seeing London empty when it’s usually teeming with people – what a treat!

    Like

    1. It seems like I am outnumbered here 😀 however I would love to be an early bird so will try harder. Especially if I want to see London as quiet as I am sure it won’t last very long!

      Like

  4. I usually wake up at 4:30 am (by choice), so the husband calls me “an extreme morning person.” I LOVE the early morning, especially in summer. Right now I’m outside overlooking the golf course that abuts our back yard. It is so peaceful in the early morning. I love the calm and quiet. When traveling, too, I love seeing the place – be it city or countryside – in the early morning. But especially big cities – they have such a different feel early in the morning before most of the city has woken up.

    Like

      1. And for me, it would be a struggle to go to bed at 4-30 AM, not so much for you 🙂

        Like

    1. I would call that an extreme morning person too xD very impressive. And a great way to experience the calm and quiet before anyone else. I would love to do that and will try and get up earlier than usual, as you are making so much more of your day than I currently am!

      Great stuff and thank you for the comments 🙂

      Like

    1. Thanks AJ, I am just reading your new post, I am using the couch to 5k app just to get my fitness back up to that kind of level! However getting up early is key to being productive. Cheers 🙂

      Like

      1. Oh that’s great you picked a goal for yourself. I find that’s the most important thing for me- otherwise I’d never run🤣

        Like

  5. Wonderful photos!! I love to see the sites through your camera lens. I refer to myself as an early-ish bird. I get up early and ease into my morning – coffee, social media, bird watching (in my yard), etc. Then I start my truly productive tasks, usually a couple of hours after I get up. Still trying to force myself out the door early enough to capture a sunrise. 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you so much! It sounds like you get up really early to be able to do all that and still leave before sunrise. An absolute goal of mine honestly! To be productive on a morning is a great way to start the day and feel great too. I will try to be more like you, and capture some London sunrises whilst I am at it 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment