Street smart

To follow on from my previous post (partially), a message I had found on the street in Newcastle, NSW.

Not art, more a simple message that has been scribbled on the floor. I felt it was a deep enough message to take a photo.

IMG_6027

For those struggling to see the message, it reads- ‘Abandon TV and enter the age of knowledge’.

Not that TV was the problem I talked about recently, it was the internet, and the dilemma for me is that I feel the internet is much more beneficial for finding the truth that TV can ever be. The sad thing is it is also a haven for cyber bullying, trolls and misinformation. Like so many things, it is about using the internet as the powerful tool it is and taking advantage of the capabilities instead of letting it take advantage of us. Like being caught up in a violent storm, we can use the strong winds to carry us or knock us down. If a gale is blowing, kite surf.

So yes, the internet is much better than TV for information, however it is a lot more dangerous. In an age in which we have the ability to obtain all the information gathered throughout human history, it is learning how to extract this goodness that we need to practice.

Published by

Dealing with Disorder

A website dedicated to Tourette, OCD and co-occurring conditions. Daily updates celebrating neurodiversity.

8 thoughts on “Street smart”

    1. Sounds interesting… I’ve snapped a screenshot to remind myself. Thanks for the recommendation! It’s certainly interesting/frightening to consider how far technology has come and will go in the future.

      Like

  1. That’s a skill we struggle to teach – I’m a high school science teacher, and I find that my kids believe everything they read. I really think we need to have a way to teach people how to be discriminating in what they find truthful. Great post.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Interesting to know the perspective of someone that works with kids regularly, thanks for the insight. It seems very hard to get people to think rationally, adults as well as kids! Especially when people tend to believe what they want to hear and not what is the truth. Hopefully we will get there one day.
      Thanks for commenting!

      Like

Leave a comment