You don’t like gruesome pub names, huh?!

I just wanted to take a moment to reflect on my Normality is Temporary post published a couple days back… my featured photo showing a group of tourists outside of the Hung, Drawn and Quartered pub near the Tower of London. It seems a couple of you weren’t the biggest fans of the gruesome pub name.

Cough, cough Pat and Darnell 😉

IMG_2862-2

And I don’t blame you, it’s pretty rough. However this was the only reason I took the above photo as the name just stood out. And it had me thinking of all the other funny pub names I have encountered so far, and the ones I am still yet to see for myself.

(Trigger warning for those not prepared for a little naughtiness)

My favorites so far after doing a little research (mainly courtesy of secretldn and Londonist):

Dirty Dicks

The Famous Cock

Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese

The Hole in the Wall

Fanny on the Hill (apparently no longer open sadly…)

Filthy Fanny’s (This one is just a 15 minute walk from me!)

The Job Centre

John the Unicorn

Pratts and Payne

The Pyrotechnists Arms

The Defectors Weld

And I have to remind those in the States that fanny means something a little different here, but still makes for a very humourous pub name either side of the pond and elsewhere.

Which of these tickles your fancy?

I said ‘fancy’… 😉

 


 

Connect with me!

Have a blog you want to share? Introduce yourself here!

Also, I would love to grow on Instagram, please give me a follow over there as I will have plenty of London shots coming your way. Any help would be amazing as photography is fast becoming a passion of mine. Click here for onechancetoseetheworld on Insta and thank you so much for your support. It means the world to me.

img_4182 (2)

 

Published by

Dealing with Disorder

A website dedicated to Tourette, OCD and co-occurring conditions. Daily updates celebrating neurodiversity.

28 thoughts on “You don’t like gruesome pub names, huh?!”

  1. In an area with its fair share of violence in its history, humor is one the best ways to deal with it. I remember quite well my family and I did this tour at the Tower of London. The Beef Eater tour guide was cracking jokes the entire time and he was absolutely hilarious! If he didn’t do that, I would have been morose after that tour because the Tower of London is quite a depressing place.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. It may well have been, I will have to look it up. The names must have some connection to the local community past or present, so it will be interesting to see.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. It fills my heart with glee that fanny is such a naughty word but cunt is said with much more regularity than it is here.
    Here, People are visibly repulsed if you say cunt but say fanny allll the time. Mind you, fanny here means bum but still…people are so funny.
    I love the pub names!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ‘Fanny’ isn’t as offensive as saying the ‘C’ word, but certainly something you wouldn’t say over a family dinner! It is also a word I hardly hear anymore actually… I think it is dying out haha. This is why the ‘C’ word is heard much more frequently out of the two, but I agree we say the ‘C’ word more than some countries. Apart from Australia… they use it more! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I used to go to one called dick’s last resort. HI there. Please come check out my blog which contains excerpts from my book of memoirs, The Driveway Rules which details growing up with undiagnosed autism. Hope to see you there!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I also have a meet and greet page on my site to share your blog, which gets frequent traffic if you like! Your book sounds fascinating and it would be lovely to share. I will check your page out. Thanks again for sharing 🙂

      Like

      1. Ah, google- so unhelpful. Pogue mahone comes from the Irish phrase “póg mo thóin,” which means “kiss my arse.” That’s also where the band The Pogues got their name from (I believe the story is they wanted the entire phrase but record execs wouldn’t allow it) 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I just realized that in my bleary eyed morning email check, I totally misunderstood your last response (about where google failed you). Sorry about that. Feel free to use your favourite Irish phrase on me 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Sam – Another delightful post! There is an author Martha Grimes, who writes murder mysteries. and all of the titles of her books are named after pubs most of them are in England but there are a couple from the States as well. Some of my favorite books and names are as follows:
    The Anodyne Necklace
    The Five Bells and Blade Bone
    Jerusalem Inn
    The Man with a Load of Mischief
    I am the only running Footman
    The Old Contemptibles
    The Horse You Came in on (This one, I think, is in Baltimore Maryland.)
    Hope you are keep safe and well. -Jill

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks Jill! This is very interesting, writing books named after pubs is pretty unique, I bet the pubs feel flattered too! I hope they have at least one copy at the bar…

      ‘I am the only running footman’ is probably my favourite here!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. It’s always fun discovering pubs with unusual names, I’m sure some of them are visited purely because a stranger has stumbled upon it and liked the name.

    Like

    1. It will be a big selling point I would imagine, especially for an unsuspecting tourist… when I am away somewhere I am always drawn to the name. Cheers Jason, I hope you are well.

      Like

Leave a comment